I was listening to some Christmas music today while I attended a sick baby & sick-pregnant wife.  Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer came on and for some reason some things started clicking in my mind about the song. Of course, we all usually think about the clay-animation classic and the hard time that Rudolph seems to have. He has this great gift, this incredibly unique nose that makes him special and nobody sees him for who he really is as a reindeer. Sad right?

Well, as I listened to the song playing today I realized something else.  Look at the words:

They never let poor Rudolph join in any reindeer games. [notice, nothing changes] THEN one foggy Christmas Eve, Santa came to say, ‘Rudolph with your nose so bright, won’t you guide my sleigh tonight?’ THEN how the reindeer LOVED HIM. They shouted out with glee!”

Those are some pretty SAD reindeer!  Think about it, they never cared about Rudolph, nor did they accept him, until it was shown to them that Rudolph could DO SOMETHING for them! Now, I know I’m being overly-analytical about this kids Christmas song – but hey, I’ve got a house full of sick people. What else can I do!?

Do we do the same with people?  We really don’t appreciate them or care about them until we see what they can DO for us?  Think about Christians in churches across America – when a new person comes in, do we accept them openly or wait until they can fill a need in the church before we accept them?

What about Christ Himself? Do we, through our lifestyles, shun Christ until we get ourselves into a bind we can’t get out of and then it’s all, “Hey Jesus, won’t you guide my sleigh (life) tonight!?……but when we get back I don’t really need you anymore…”  That sounds appalling, but seriously consider it for a moment. What “reindeer games” do we keep Him out of in our lives?

Sorry if I completely ruined this classic song – but it just goes to show that sometimes “Rudolph” is right in front of us in our lives. That sometimes, he’s not a lonely little reindeer who has been kicked out of reindeer games, but Immanuel, who has been shunned from our daily lives.

